Acidic

I can hear them there
Voices tip toeing like thieves
Beyond the edges of my consciousness
Wrangling with my guilt
Poisoning my thoughts
With fears dipped in acid
And force fed into my dreams
Eating away
Until my secrets are coated in pain
Eating away
Until crimson regret and silent longing
Push me down to languish in self loathing

I can hear them there
Releasing all my secrets
Giving life to all my fears
Stripping disguises made from tears
So they no longer hide my face

I can hear them there.
Someone shut them up.
I can’t make them shut up.

Loosely based on the Daily Prompt: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/prompt-sleep/

5 thoughts on “Acidic

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt: Accidents | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: I’ll Take Care | Views Splash!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Talking in your sleep | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

