Prince Charming Was A Lie

Once upon a time
I loved you more than any girl
Should love any boy

And I thought
Fairy tales were real
Prince Charming was a boy
With stretched ears and ink embedded in his skin

But Snow White woke up
Cinderella’s ball ended
The evil in the shadows found a home in my soul
The wicked witch
The evil stepmother
Were the lies I told myself

Prince Charming was a lie
A lie you told to steal my heart
And keep it to yourself

Prince Charming was a lie
And I wear it on my skin
Etched into my flesh for all to see
Prince Charming was a lie

Leave a Reply

